white .jpg

Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers
Launch Week

Agenda

Agenda

View the session outline below.
The detailed agenda will be shared in early 2022.

Pre-launch events
23 - 25 February 2022

#GAILLaunch 

Latin America presents...

Wednesday 23 February, 17:00 GMT

11:00 MX/GT/CR/NI/HN  | 12:00 PE/COL/EC/PA  | 13:00 VE/DOM/PR  | 14:00 ARG/BRA/UY/CL/PY

This virtual event is presented by the Regional Board of Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers, GAIL Latinoamérica. The session will explore the role of impact lawyers in Latin America and the GAIL Launch Week themes: impact investing, purposeful business, climate, ESG, and business and human rights.

This session is in Spanish.

North America presents...

Thursday 24 February, 17:00 GMT

08:00 AKST  |  09:00 PST  |  10:00 MST  |  11:00 CST  |  12:00 EST

This virtual event is presented by the Regional Board of Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers, GAIL North America. The session will explore the role of impact lawyers in North America and the GAIL Launch Week themes: impact investing, purposeful business, climate, ESG, and business and human rights.

This session is in English.

Europe presents...

Friday 25 February, 13:00 GMT

13:00 WET  |  14:00 CET  |  15:00 EET 

This virtual event is presented by the Regional Board of Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers, GAIL Europe. The session will explore the role of impact lawyers in Europe and the GAIL Launch Week themes: impact investing, purposeful business, climate, ESG, and business and human rights.

This session is in English.

Opening events
28 February 2022

#GAILLaunch 

Monday 28 February, 14:00 GMT

09:00 EST | 14:00 GMT | 15:00 CET | 19:30 IST

This mainstage event will present the formal launch of the Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers (GAIL).

 

Join for the unveiling of the forward-looking agenda of the organisation, which will support the growth of a community of ‘impact lawyers’ who will advocate for and champion a rapid and just transition towards a truly sustainable and inclusive economy.

 

Featured speakers include William H. Clark, Jr., President of GAIL, with a Keynote delivered by Sir Ronald Cohen, Chair of the Global Steering Group for Impact Investment (GSG) and Co-Founder of Apax Partners.

The opening presentation will be followed by an in-depth panel exploring the imperative to change the economic system, the role of business and impact lawyers, chaired by Simon Mundy, Moral Money Editor at the Financial Times. The panel will share what the regulatory endgame could look like as we strive for a Just Transition. 

Panellists include Nate Saint Victor, General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer at Engine No. 1, the activist shareholder impact investment group that successfully placed three new directors on the Exxon Board last year to push for greater emphasis on sustainability. 

He will be joined by Professor Alberto Allemano, Jean Monnet Professor of European Union Law at HEC Paris and founder of The Good Lobby, a non-profit committed to democratising Europe through the creation of citizen-powered ‘good lobbies’. His research and public interest work have centred on how law and policies can be used to improve people’s lives, through the adoption of power-shifting reforms countering social, health, economic, and political disparities.

Additional speakers to be announced.

This virtual session is in English.

UK presents...

Monday 28 February, 17:00 GMT

This event is presented by the Regional Board of Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers, GAIL UK. The session will explore the role of impact lawyers in the UK and the GAIL Launch Week themes: impact investing, purposeful business, climate, ESG, and business and human rights.

This session is in English.

Mid-launch events
2 - 3 March 2022

#GAILLaunch 

Asia Pacific presents...

Wednesday 2 March, 04:00 GMT

09:30 IST | 12:00 SGT | 15:00 AEDT | 17:00 NZDT

This event is presented by the Regional Board of Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers, GAIL Asia Pacific. The session will explore the role of impact lawyers in Asia Pacific and the GAIL Launch Week themes: impact investing, purposeful business, climate, ESG, and business and human rights.

This session is in English.

Global Panels
#GAILLaunch Mainstage

ESG Disclosures, Regulation & Greenwashing

B Corps on Public Markets 

Wednesday 2 March, 09:00 GMT

09:00 GMT | 10:00 CET | 14:30 IST | 17:00 SGT | 20:00 AEDT

Two consecutive panels take place in this Mainstage Global Panel event.

 

The first panel will explore the changing landscape of ESG disclosure and regulation in key markets including Europe, the US and UK. It will cover the role of regulation in ESG ratings, concerns about greenwashing within ESG funds and the role of lawyers in whistleblower complaints.

 

The second panel will share the experiences of B Corps listed on the public markets, the strategy behind routes to certification within top co - subsidiary structures, and the legal issues presented by operating in multiple jurisdictions.

This virtual session is in English.

Global Panels - Member only session
#GAILLaunch Mainstage

Journeys as an impact lawyer

In depth: Case studies and deal structures

Thursday 3 March, 13:00 GMT

08:00 EST | 13:00 GMT | 14:00 CET | 18:30 IST

In this member only session, two consecutive panels will share the experiences of members of the Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers community.

 

The first panel will explore journeys as an impact lawyer, with the second session focusing on case studies and deal structures, with space for discussion between members in response.

This virtual session is in English.

Closing events
4 March 2022

#GAILLaunch 

Asia Pacific - Member only session
#GAILLaunch Mainstage

Journeys as an impact lawyer

In depth: Case studies and deal structures

Friday 4 March, 04:00 GMT

09:30 IST | 12:00 SGT | 15:00 AEDT | 17:00 NZDT

This member only session, chaired by GAIL Asia Pacific will share the experiences of members of the Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers community.

During this event, key sections of the Global Panels session on Thursday 3 March February, 13:00 GMT will be shown on the following topics: 'Journeys as an impact lawyer' and 'In depth: Case studies and deal structures'.

Following each topic, members from the GAIL Asia Pacific Regional Board will host and facilitate discussion and further reflection in response.

This virtual session is in English.

Close of the Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers Launch Week
#GAILLaunch Mainstage


Capital markets: externalities, benefit corporations and universal ownership

Friday 4 March, 14:00 GMT

09:00 EST | 14:00 GMT | 15:00 CET | 19:30 IST

This mainstage event will close the Launch Week of the Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers (GAIL).

 

The event will set-out the forward looking agenda for GAIL, to the growth of the next generation of ‘impact lawyers’ who will advocate for and champion a rapid and just transition towards a truly sustainable and inclusive economy.

 

Featured speakers include Sarah Dobson, Executive Director of GAIL. 

The presentation will be followed by an in-depth panel exploring capital markets, externalities, benefit corporations and universal ownership.

This virtual session is in English.

Please note that the agenda is subject to update and change. 

Becoming a member
Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers

The Launch Week is free to attend, with selected elements available exclusively for GAIL members. Register here.

To become a Founding Member of GAIL, get in touch by 31 January 2022. Find out more about Founding Membership in the partnership guide.

Standard membership will open in February 2022. View the annual membership fees for the Global Alliance of Impact Lawyers.