Search

Green Recovery and Climate Change in Latin America, 21 Oct 2020

Updated: 7 days ago

RSVP to attend


Green Recovery and Climate Change in Latin America Wednesday 21 October 2020 esela Online Weekly Series

8 am Lima | 10 am Buenos Aires | 2 pm London | 3 pm Rome CPD | 75 minutes self-certified CPD points


Join policy, economic, environmental and legal experts to explore climate change and the pathway to a green recovery after Covid-19 for Latin America. Latin America will face significant growing impacts from climate change, and has an important role to play in being part of the solution to this global challenge while simultaneously preserving economic progress. These challenges have only increased due to the COVID-19 pandemic. As Latin America emerges from the pandemic, it will need to work to continue economic development while at the same time mounting a stronger effort to address climate change, reduce emissions, promote a green recovery, and prepare for climate adaptation. While many of these issues are shared globally, there are significant issues unique to Latin America given its geography, political structure, and economic status. Along the way, both hard and soft law will bring new requirements on corporations and communities to address these competing issues. Please join leading policy, economic, environmental and legal experts in Latin America who will explore the landscape and impacts for Latin America as it emerges from COVID-19 and prepares for a green recovery that addresses climate change in new ways while enabling economic recovery and prosperity.

Moderator

Speakers

  • Soffia Alarcon - Director, LATAM, Sustainable Finance, IHS Markit

  • Sarah Gammage - Latin America Public Policy & Government Relations Director at The Nature Conservancy

  • Benoit Lefèvre - Senior Specialist - Climate Change, Inter-American Development Bank

  • Pablo Martínez, PhD - Country Representative for the Mexico program, Global Green Growth Institute

  • Lina Pimentel Garcia - Environmental Law and ESG Partner at Mattos Filho and Senior Vice Chair of the International Bar Association (IBA) Environment, Health & Safety Committee

Presenter

  • Constanza Connolly, Counsel at Beccar Varela, Board Member of esela - The legal network for social impact and Co-Founder and Committee Member, of Red Latinoamericana de Abogados de Impacto


This session is co-presented by esela - The legal network for social impact and Red Latinoamericana de Abogados de Impacto (RLAI), with the International Bar Association (IBA) Environment, Health and Safety Law Committee, IBA Section on Energy, Environment, Natural Resources and Infrastructure Law (SEERIL).


View the event invitation




POST EVENT

Click here to find out how to access the recordings and materials.


9 views